What does it feel like to au pair? My insights into my experiences abroad

Thinking about traveling to a foreign country to au pair but have NO IDEA what to expect? I’ve got you covered.

I was an au pair for 3 months in Ireland as part of my European adventures.

In this video I describe my experiences and offer insights into things to consider when searching for a family.

Au pairing can be a great way to earn money while traveling. By living with the family (or in a separate apartment they provide for you) you will have a FREE place to stay and most of your food costs covered!

My top three suggestions in regards to things to consider when searching for a family are:

1. Location (Things to do, connected to public transportation)

2. Family Dynamic (Ask the family to describe themselves)

3. Number of Children (If it is your first time I suggest ONE child. Age is important as well. Older children are more independent while younger children will need more attention and care)

NOTE: My apologies for speaking SUPER fast — you can slow down the rate of the video my visiting youtube directly. On the lower right hand portion of the screen is a little gear looking thing (Settings) – it you click it you will find an option for speed. If you select 0.5 it will slow down my crazy thoughts 😉

Photo taken while exploring with the family I au paired for in Ireland

Photo taken while exploring with the family I au paired for in Ireland

Leave a Reply

