Singing Britney Spears karaoke and other shenanigans of the gay pride weekend in Spain – August 15-17, 2014

I am the 1%. As much as I would like this to refer to my financial status in society…. it’s not. What I am referring to is that fact that I was the ONE and only straight person at a gay pride weekend on the coast Spain. Well DUH LINDSAY – of course you would be! It is a gay pride event after all! When my hosts in Spain originally invited me to the “convention” (as Zaida called it), I politely declined figuring I could stay in Madrid and the finish up my touristy explorations. However, when the topic of the weekend was brought up again I heard the term BEACH and my ears instantly perked up!

I was aware the event was a 5ish hour drive away — but I didn’t realize that it was a big party on the beach. As Tania described to me their experience last year it sounded like such a blast so I recanted my declination and decided I would join in on the fun! When else will I find myself in Spain with the opportunity to go to a gay pride weekend? I am still YOLO-ing the shit out of my travels. Seriously. Lucky for me when they called to add me to the reservation they knew somebody that knew somebody and were able to get me in . OOOOOOOOOOK lets do this thing!

They told me that Saturday night there would be a dress up party with a circus theme… yet they weren’t planning on dressing up. OH no no no – YES WE ARE! I convinced Zaida to join me in dressing as a clown. We got creative and made our own costumes for less than 1 Euro! I had a vision to do some funky makeup, wear a dress, and adorn myself with my fabulous homemade clown accessories.   All in all it was a fun weekend filled with sunshine, laughs, meeting fabulous people, and — seeing and hearing things that can never be unseen or unheard 😉

Continue reading for some stories and photos from my colorful experience at Levantentienda in Calarreona, Spain (on the southern coast a bit south of Murcia).

A quick note before I start writing – The week prior to this weekend was pretty uneventful… after the 100k walk and the weekend in Menorca I was ready to just chill. I went to my first movie internationally (which ended up being in English with Spanish subtitles – lucky me 😉 ), I slept, went to the park, and just chilled a lot. With this heat in Madrid, it makes it VERY unattractive to go outside and explore.

Day 121 – August 15 (29) – Friday

Long drive from Madrid to the coast… as soon as we were checked in it was time to go to the beach! The complex where the event was being hosted was right on the ocean! The water was super nice and warm so we went swimming and relaxed in the sunshine all afternoon. We spent the entire afternoon on the beach… but not without some colorful entertainment. Things I witnessed at the beach:

  1. Men having a purse throwing contest while in high heels (on the beach)
  2. Men having a running race in high heels on the beach (at least 3 of them broke the shoes haha!)
  3. A bunch of men building a sand sculpture of the male body (anatomy and all) – and later two young kids jumping around on it
  4. The most ridiculous game of beach volleyball. Watching gay men play beach volleyball is just plain hysterical. I think Tania and I were one of the few that were actually not scared to hit the ball.
  5. During volleyball one of the men ran into a prickly bush while wearing a Speedo and scratched up his legs
  6. The sexiest lifeguard I’ve ever seen in my life. I was about to go pretend I was drowning. SO gorgeous.

Dinner was cafeteria style and the food was surprisingly pretty tasty nom nom nom. At night they had an introductory celebration of sorts where groups of people (based on a bracelet you were given at check in with a color and number) sang karaoke up on stage. I was the 7th group to go up and having been sitting there I was like OH SHIT – because most of the songs were in Spanish. My hosts decided to ditch their groups and babysit me up on stage haha! When we got up there Tania went over to the DJ and requested a song in English… low and behold we were given Britney Spears’ “Baby One More Time”. SWEET I GOT THIS! Of course the microphone was handed to me so we all gathered around singing and the one dude next to me knew every word — to which he claimed “I AM Britney Spears!” hahaha!

After karaoke it was a night of  dancing, laughing, and having a great time. (Note to self – do not wear a strapless shirt around a bunch of gay men – they WILL touch your boobs). It was late into the night when a group of people were going to the beach. Before the stairs down to the beach, there were a row of outdoor showers… which made me a spectator to a bunch of gay men showering naked together. Just another moment of “Things I saw that can’t be unseen” — however, quite a few of them had pretty decent bods soooo a little eye candy from time to time won’t hurt ya (so what if they bat for their team). As my hosts and some other people headed to the beach, I decided to call it a night and went back to the room. Nighty night!

Sunny weekend on the coast of Spain

Sunny weekend on the coast of Spain

"I know not all that may be coming, but be it what it will, I'll go to it laughing." - Herman Melville

“I know not all that may be coming, but be it what it will, I’ll go to it laughing.” – Herman Melville

I just can't get enough

I just can’t get enough

And I think to myself... What a wonderful world

And I think to myself… What a wonderful world

Day 122 – August 16 (30) – Saturday

Ahhhh sunshine, breakfast, beach. We spent the entire day on the beach. My hosts went off at times to go do some courses (they had yoga, personal defense, kama sutra, and others — I originally was going to go but given I wouldn’t understand most of it I just decided to stick to what I know best — THE BEACH!) I briefly took a time out for lunch… the a little afternoon rest in my room before heading to dinner. There was a BBQ organized which ended up being super delicious! Given we were kind of in the dark I was eating a plate of mystery meat… once again I lived through it so I guess all was well!

Post dinner it was time to get ready for the costume party! We retreated to the room to get adorn ourselves in our costumes and makeup. I somehow managed to paint my face with makeup but it wasn’t exactly the look I was going for. I resembled something of a goth clown gone wrong haha. I guess it turned out ok but NOT what I had pictured in my head.

We wandered down to the party and the festivities were already in full swing. The MC was calling various acts up to stage — which were just bizarre and awkward to watch — albeit entertaining. Before I knew what was going on I was watching a lady dude lip syncing to various songs… and at one part came out dressed as Marilyn Monroe to sing “Diamonds are a Girls Best Friend”. He had like three push up bras on which actually gave him a bit of cleavage. Interesting.

The rest of the night was a blast – a bunch of dancing and laughing! Plus I think 95% of the guys came up to me to tell me how beautiful I was a give me a kiss. It’s like they were all too shy to come up to me before… add in some booze and BAM! And to think they don’t even fancy women!! haha! but hey… a compliment is a compliment – i’ll TAKE IT! Thanks booooooooooys 🙂

Our homemade clown accessories for 1 Euro!

Our homemade clown accessories for 1 Euro!

“Friendship is born at that moment when one woman says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."”  ― C.S. Lewis

“Friendship is born at that moment when one woman says to another: “What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . .””
― C.S. Lewis

 

Day 123 – August 17 (31) – Sunday

Woke up and missed breakfast. Went to beach all day. Ate a late lunch of paella (to which I was freaked out my most of the seafood for some reason), packed up and drove back to Madrid. LONG ASS freaking drive. YUP that is about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

