Highlights and Photos from my 8th Week on Tenerife (July 3rd-9th)

The sun is out. Therefore I do not have the ability to think or write…. Must…go…lay…in…the…sun.

Read on for my some highlights and photos from my 8th week on the island!

 

Day 77 – July 3 (51) – Thursday

Expenses – 0

Worked in the morning. Juan came down to the hostel and I made Philly cheese steaks. If you don’t know what a Philly cheese steak is… it’s a famous sandwich made in Philly composed of shredded steak, cheese, and optional caramelized onions and peppers. It’s freaking delicious. Like a warm hug to your stomach! After filling our bellies, we wandered down to the beach in La Barranquera for a bit to relax and pick up sea glass (I almost have my jar full! Such big goals I have 😉 ).

Oddly enough this was my first attempt at a Philly Cheesesteak - I would usually just buy them. Turned out pretty good! Success!

Oddly enough this was my first attempt at a Philly Cheesesteak – I would usually just buy them. Turned out pretty good! Success!

Day 78 – July 4 (52) – Friday

Expenses – 0

Worked in the morning then hung out with Karen chatting and drinking beers. Given I’m the only American I know in this area of the island, I was in full on recruit mode for people to help me celebrate the 4th of July! I asked Mattia and Vitto (the owners of the hostel) if they knew about 4th of July in America…and Vitto responded with “That’s when you prepare a turkey?”. CLOSE… but nope. No turkey. Just barbecues and fireworks. Bruno came over and the guests from Amsterdam hung out by the pool. Later in the evening the guys from Holland and the girl from Austria and I played some drinking games. We played Donkey then Kings Cup. Who says you can’t relive your college years??? ‘Meeeeeeeerica!

Day 79 – July 5 (53) – Saturday

Expenses – 10 (Lunch)

Went hiking with Daniel from Madrid… Taganana-Afur loop in the Anaga mountains. A bit over 10 miles of mountain hiking! The first two hours are ALL climbing up the mountain through the forest. We ended up chatting most of the way so it went by pretty quickly. The views were awesome and it was an enjoyable hike. BUT… it took 7 hours!!! After about five hours I think we were both ready to be back to the car haha! I got back to the hostel in the early evening and showered and sat on my ass. After non stop motion all day I was in full on sloth mode.

The beginning of the trail... happy thoughts of adventure and hiking!

The beginning of the trail… happy thoughts of adventure and hiking!

View from mid way up the mountain

View from mid way up the mountain

Daniel - my hiking buddy for the day who was visiting from Madrid

Daniel – my hiking buddy for the day who was visiting from Madrid

More cave houses! They are all over this island.

More cave houses! They are all over this island.

Houses in the valley as we descended into Afur.

Houses in the valley as we descended into Afur.

Other guests met the Mayor of Afur... with a total population of SEVEN inhabitants!

Other guests met the Mayor of Afur… with a total population of SEVEN inhabitants!

Almost to the beach (after 5+ hours of hiking!)

Almost to the beach (after 5+ hours of hiking!)

The last 2 hours of the hike along the coast... just to get an idea of the trail. OH MY!

The last 2 hours of the hike along the coast… just to get an idea of the trail. OH MY!

 

Day 80 – July 6 (54) – Sunday

Expenses – 0

Worked in the morning then Juan so we headed to La Barranquera and walked all over the place before finding a spot on the beach and relaxing in the sweet summer sun. ARE YOU SO SURPRISED?? I WENT TO THE BEACH AGAIN!!! Shocking… I know.

Day 81 – July 7 (55) – Monday

Expenses – 0

Worked in the morning. Cloudy and rainy day so I took a nap.  LAZY day. <— serious BUMMING it day!

Day 82 – July 8 (56) – Tuesday

Expenses – 4 Euro (food)

Yea my day off! I had planned to meet Juan at his work so I started the almost 2 hour journey mid-morning. Luckily a guest from Amsterdam was also heading to Santa Cruz so we took the bus together. Time on the bus goes MUCH quicker when you have someone to chat with! He was a 22 year old guy who DJ’s 80’s wave music in Amsterdam… and he was also 6’10”!!! It’s a rare thing when I meet someone who is a foot taller than me! I got to the east side of the island a bit early so I found a small rocky beach and camped out for 40 minutes in the sun. I then headed over to the sailing school where Juan teaches kids in the summer months.  Went back to his house for lunch and to relax a bit. Later in the afternoon we went to La Laguna to walk around but it was chilly! There are so many different climates on this island you literally need to carry around a backpack full of clothes if you plans on crossing the island. As usual, we ate…we drank… we talked… then I had the joyous task of taking the bus back to the hostel. I was wearing flats (that are super uncomfortable cheap flats from Target). The walk from the bus stop to the hostel is about 15-20 minutes. I decided to just jog it… in flats. Tore my feet up but at least I got there swiftly!

Day 83 – July 9 (57)

Expenses – 0

Went to La Barranquera and walked 45 minutes (more like climbed over rocks) along the coast to the “white beach”. Hung out there all day relaxing by myself – so peaceful and I was able to even out some tan lines :-).  Came back to the hostel and watched the World Cup (well not really… I was IN the room… but I couldn’t tell you what happened or who won). I guess my lack of enthusiasm for watching sports on TV is the same in any country. I love going to sporting events… but watching them on TV —- eeeeeeeh not so much.

I may not be there yet... But I'm closer than I was yesterday. - Natalia Campbell

I may not be there yet… But I’m closer than I was yesterday. – Natalia Campbell

Lava rocks

Lava rocks

Taking the whole "I just want to live in a shack on the beach" to the extreme!

Taking the whole “I just want to live in a shack on the beach” to the extreme!

barra3

Smell the sea and feel the sky... let your soul and spirit fly. - Van Morrison

Smell the sea and feel the sky… let your soul and spirit fly. – Van Morrison

Life's better with sandy toes

Life’s better with sandy toes

Once the tide went out I found this natural little pool to swim in

Once the tide went out I found this natural little pool to swim in

Leave a Reply

