Snorkeling naked… and other hiking adventures of Travel Day #75

I don’t know why I keep attempting to write these posts in the morning…. I typically sit here, stare at the screen and it takes me way too long to get to writing. Even the cup of Hazlenut coffee I just downed isn’t doing much for me. I used to be able to focus on whatever task was at hand and just GET IT DOOOOOOOOOOONE (It’s that Type A in me that thrives on efficiency and getting to the point!). However, I swear over the years of working long hours, having incredible stress, and just TOO much to “get done”… my brain has simply started a Revolutionary War in my head. What is that whole thing about your sense of being able to detect fear and protect yourself?? (PAUSE: time to Google) Shit the only thing I could find was fight or flight response and that’s not quuuuuuuuuuite what I’m referring to.

What I mean is that even though my natural tendencies have always been to do more, be more, go more etc. (and I was stressing myself out immensely)… my brain is much smarter than me and was like NOPE —  I’m not going to let you process all these shenanigans! It’s like my brain has forced me to filter out all the bullshit and just stick to the basics that keep me happy and humble.

Ever since I worked as a Director of a Brain Training Center I have been even more fascinated with the brain… and cognition… and just how things work. If you geek out on this stuff too read The Brain That Changes Itself by Norman Doidge — it’s awesome!

Ok now onto my adventures of hiking and camping on July 1st. I’m about to get all Cliff notes on this post (which is fitting considering I was hiking on cliffs).

Location: Iguesta to Playa Antequera

Duration: 5 hours — in the hot hot sun

Distance: 6 km — i think… I cant find the map via Google so I’ll just take a semi-educated guess.

Elevation: No idea. I’ll edit this later 🙂

Pretty much a hike is a hike is a hike right? There isn’t much to tell aside from the fact that I was walking for a LONG time and climbing up and over mountains. The initial part of the hike was a path I had already hiked the previous week — and it’s a doozy! You go from 0 to 100 reaaaal fast – just UP UP UP UP. Add on the fact that I had about 4+ liters of water, a satchel of food, and some clothing items in my backpack… it was like having a 25lb. weight strapped to my back. Lets just say I was feeling the burn in the first 10 minutes. Given there was no shade on the trail, I was pretty much soaked in sweat right away. Super sexy.

After reaching the peak, we had to turn into trail hunters to find our way down into the valley… and ultimately to our final destination, Playa Antequera (a black sand beach that is only accessible by hiking or boat). A lot of trails here on the island are marked so you can find your way.. this was NOT one of those trails. You have to have faith that the people before you (who make small piles of rocks to indicate the way) went the right way. There were quite a few times where it took some exploring to find the way! Two hours of climbing and hiking later and we reached a cave where we stopped for a snack.

Onward to the beach! Thiry-ish minutes later and the beach was in sight — such a glooooooorious site! We made our way down and after 5ish hours of being on a mountain I was ready to cool off. With full knowledge of what this hike is all about… I opted for the possibility to take a water taxi back the next day so Juan went off to try to get a stronger signal for his mobile… leaving me seaside all alone with nothing but nature (and a few boats out at sea). So what do you do when you are all alone at the sea? You snorkel naked… THAT’s what you do! The opportunity has never presented itself before so I decided to seize the moment. YOLO.

It’s a pretty blissful activity. I’d recommend you try it out. I was enjoying my swim with the fishes until I spotted a jellyfish… swam the other way and spotted another one. Well then…snorkel time game over. I was feeling a bit too exposed to be sharing my ocean space with multiple jellyfish. 🙂

Wow this post is getting long… I start typing and get carried away. The rest of the day involved setting up the tent on the beach, having to move the tent to the cave since the wind was sooo cray cray it was blowing in the tent, building a campfire, me burning everything I could find, and getting absolutely NO SLEEP. The seagulls sounded like crying babies, there were other bat-like creatures screeching in the night, and we were sleeping on dirt and rocks. WAY too many noises for me to rest peacefully! Oh and did I mention I’m scared of the dark? Like really… I freak myself out in my own house in the dark compliments of my over active imagination. One scenario in my head was that someone was going to come get us and Juan would have to fight him off… and then Juan would die and I would be stranded there in the middle of nowhere all by myself. Please tell me someone else has this affliction with their thoughts? SERIOUSLY creepy haha!

I only managed to slightly fall asleep once the sun started to come up… because that means all the scary night monsters can’t come out now. Yup I’m 30. Winning at life obviously. haha.

So there you have it…. my first hiking/camping adventure ever! I’ve hiked… I’ve camped… but I’ve never married the two. Now that I’m out of that creepy cave I’ll live happily ever after. Amen!

I’ll write about the day after in another post…. I found myself in quite an interesting situation – OH MY. haha.

 

I see skies of blue and clouds of white...bright blessed days & dark sacred nights...and I think to myself... what a wonderful world

I see skies of blue and clouds of white…bright blessed days & dark sacred nights…and I think to myself… what a wonderful world

Started from the bottom now we're here... at the peak!

Started from the bottom now we’re here… at the peak!

View from the peak...looking towards Igueste (where we started the hike)

View from the peak…looking towards Igueste (where we started the hike)

Anaga Mountains

Anaga Mountains

Taking a break at the peak

Taking a break at the peak

Juan & I

Juan & I

Almost there! The black dot near the middle of the pic is where we ended up camping

Almost there! The black dot near the middle of the pic is where we ended up camping

Looking out from the cave

Looking out from the cave

My original beach fire pit... before the wind destroyed us!

My original beach fire pit… before the wind destroyed us!

The sun is determined to make me blond again!

The sun is determined to make me blond again!

The original spot before the wind decided to be a jerk

The original spot before the wind decided to be a jerk

Moonlight seaside bonfire <3

Moonlight seaside bonfire ❤

LUCKY us! Boat ride back to society... saving us the crazy hike back!

LUCKY us! Boat ride back to society… saving us the crazy hike back!

The colorful streets of Santa Cruz, Tenerife, Spain

The colorful streets of Santa Cruz, Tenerife, Spain

Leave a Reply

