Day 14 –Friday, August 16th – Jacksonville to Beaufort, NC

NOTE to readers – SCROLL TO THE BOTTOM (if you are on the main blog page) and work your way up if you are the type of person that likes chronological order. The first post is “The Backstory”. ALSO –forgive any grammar, spelling, or whatever other writing mistakes you will find in my posts. Yes I love to use dashes and dots – I write how I would speak! Since I am writing from the road my first focus is enjoying the sights and trying to record them as best I can. Therefore, in regards to proof reading  – Ain’t nobody got time fo dat!

– – – – – – – – — – – – – – – — – – – – – – – – – – –

 

Upon waking up in Jacksonville I wasn’t really sure where I was going to head that day. I knew I wanted to visit Savannah but also was contemplating making the trek all the way up to Beaufort where my sister lived. Considering it was Friday I knew a hotel would be pricey so within the first hour of being on the road I decided I would make the long haul to North Carolina – plus I was super excited to finally meet my newest 6 month old nephew.

I drove a few hours and arrived at Savannah, Geordia. I was so exhausted and fighting a migraine so I found a hotel parking lot and closed my eyes for a bit. I managed to catch a 54 minute cat nap but still woke up feeling a bit groggy. I googled “Things to do in Savannah” and found this river walk place as well as a market. NOOOOOOOW – the glorious task of parking – my least favorite activity when visiting a new town….especially large cities. You either have to shell out $20 for parking or park at a meter miles away and hike it in. I lucked out here though and found a spot in a “red zone” which allowed you to park there ONCE a day for 2 hours… weird parking regulations but whatever – I’ll take it!

I wandered toward the City Market concierge center and asked the lady (who had some gold teeth – stylish!) what I should do if I was only in town for a few hours. She directed me to go visit the River Walk area as well as said to check out City Market. Considering it was deathly humid I quickly made my way down to the River Walk and found a store with air conditioning stat. Humidity is just plain gross. There is no way getting around it. The backs of my knees were sweating just SITTING. Ew.

I found another concierge and asked to see if he had any different suggestions of what to do. He said it was a “Eating, drinking, walking” kind of town so to just do that – thanks for the specifics yo! You rock at your job. Kidding. Kidding. But I did notice a bunch of people walking around with adult beverages and it was only 11am. NICE. I continued on my stroll and passed a bachelor party shot gunning beers. Nice. I only made it a few more blocks before I seriously felt like I was melting so I decided it was time to find some food and bevies.

I settled into a patio table at this cute café in the City Market and ordered their special sandwich for the day (some chicken type thing with this amazing Asian noodle salad) as well as a Georgia Peach Sangria – YUM! My time was about up at the parking space and the clouds looked like they were about to roll in so I hit the road and headed north.

Originally I was going to head to Charleston for the night but considering the forecast was nothing but rain I drove on…and on….and on to North Carolina. I hit a massive thunder and rain storm somewhere along the way. At first it was super cool and the lightening was freaking awesome! We don’t get much of that in Cali so I was fascinated…until it started to downpour and I couldn’t see more than 10 feet in front of me. I debated pulling over but continued to white knuckle it til I made it out from under those treacherous clouds.

I was getting close but had to stop off for one last gas up. As I was coming out of the mini market the women in the car in front of me asked where in Cali I was from and I explained I had lived in Huntington Beach but was moving back to the Philadelphia area for a few months. She has family in NorCal but ALSO had family in Bucks County – low and behold her sister owns a house a few miles from where I grew up! LOVE those “small world moments”.

A few LONG hours later and I was finally arrived at my sister’s house around 10:30. My older nephew was still awake but the baby was passed out. Just taking a look at his little sleepy self was just so cute! After chatting with my sister for a bit my brother in law and I decided to go out for a drink in “downtown”. Beaufort is a small, small, sleepy beach town but they had this once place with a band.

Last time I was with my brother in law we racked up a $90 bar tab in about 2 hours and I felt like absolute junk having to drive 4 hours the next day to catch my flight. When you only get those rare occasions to hang out with family the celebrating seems to escalate quickly! I only had the opportunity to come home once or twice a year while living in Cali so when I was home it was always a rush of trying to see everyone and catch up.

All was well until we decided to order the bar’s signature drink… The Shit Brick. WHY I felt like this was a good idea I have no idea but it tasted delicious. We wondered outside where there was a cover band playing and before I knew it I was twirling around  a middle aged woman. YUP. YUP. That happened. No cute little yacht boy or sailor….a middle aged woman with frizzy hair. But hey – she was having a good time!

Next my brother in law and I wandered over to some other bar that had about 3 people in it – BUT it had dominoes. Now I really don’t ever remember learning how to truly play dominoes but I decided to give it a shot…got my ass kicked. Oh well.

At this point it was later in the night so we walked the few blocks back to their house but somewhere along the way decided it was time for us to do some fishing!!! The Shit Brick was kicking in and I was feeling a little squiffy but decided I would go catch me some fish. Given I had the attention span of a 3 year old I managed to only catch a little fishy (and that was even with assistance from my brother in law). I’m proud to report I didn’t fall off the dock at any point throughout the night – which is a slight miracle in itself.

We made it safely back home and I was faaaaaaast sleep. Night night world.

Leave a Reply

