Day 13 –Thursday, August 15th – Key Largo to Jacksonville

NOTE to readers – SCROLL TO THE BOTTOM (if you are on the main blog page) and work your way up if you are the type of person that likes chronological order. The first post is “The Backstory”. ALSO –forgive any grammar, spelling, or whatever other writing mistakes you will find in my posts. Yes I love to use dashes and dots – I write how I would speak! Since I am writing from the road my first focus is enjoying the sights and trying to record them as best I can. Therefore, in regards to proof reading  – Ain’t nobody got time fo dat!

– – – – – – – – — – – – – – – — – – – – – – – – – – –

I have no voice. Great. Perfect. As much as I don’t want to think that my adventures have caught up with me – I’m feeling a bit worn down. When you are sleeping in odd places every night (and not really getting great sleep) then exploring alllllllllll day – I suppose my body just wants a day to chill. BUT NOPE. No rest for the weak and weary, it was time to soldier on and keep moving.

I went to the breakfast buffet at the hotel and got my friend and I an assortment of goodies. It had down poured the night before and was still a bit overcast so we were deciding what to do that day. She had to fly out of Fort Lauderdale later in the afternoon so that left us with limited time and options. We decided to start heading back up north to check out the Cuban area of Miami. SOOOO we literally just went to Key Largo to play pool at the glamorous Hog Heaven haha.  We didn’t even bother checking out the beaches… I guess I’ll add that to the list next time I’m down in the keys!

We found our way to this Cuban café in Miami. This place was legit. The people that worked there barely spoke English and when I asked for a to go menu she seriously had no idea what I was asking for. My friend decided to tackle the task of ordering some food as I waited in the car with LaRoo. She brought back some sort of pastry type sandwich and dessert— mmmm nom nom it was delish!

After filling our bellies we headed to the Viceroy hotel to get some views of the city (very posh, fancy-schmancy place)….but were quickly kicked out of the pool area because dogs aren’t allowed – damn you LaRoo. I don’t get what the big deal is having dogs in certain places. I would think some people are probably a lot grimier than dogs are soooo GET OVER IT people and let dogs everywhere! It would have made my cross country trek a LOT easier haha.

The time had come for my friend to head to the airport so I dropped her off at the terminal and I was on my way back to Jacksonville where I would be staying with my friend again. The five hour drive was pretty uneventful and I was happy to soon be sitting on the couch, enjoying a glass of wine, and listening to my friend’s amazing travel stories. She was a sailor and has traveled all over the place – and even ended up on Richard Branson’s private island at a dinner party with Elizabeth Hurley (who apparently isn’t very nice – shame on you Liz!). Once again – I LOVE listening to other people’s adventure stories! Just adds fuel to my travel fire!

Sweet dreams of the journey ahead…

One thought on “Day 13 –Thursday, August 15th – Key Largo to Jacksonville

Leave a Reply

